Luciaparty

 
 
I only took two pictures from the Luciaparty at Julia's house.. to bad, but I guess we'll have to be happy that I atleast got two :)
As you may know Julias "grandfather" is swedish so Julias mom wants to keep some traditions (even though she never lived in Sweden). So at this party there were only swedish food (LOVED IT!) like ham, lussekatter, gingerbread cookies, glögg, swedish meatballs, chocolateballs, kanelfläta? (avlång bulle typ) and other stuff. Ofcourse it's not like our "real" swedish food, but it felt so good anyway. And with the advent candles on the table too! They actually have a christmas-star in the window too, it's unique here.. I miss my white, big star at home...
The kids (the cousins) walked Lucia-tåg and sang in swedish (how funny to hear americans sing in swedish!!) but this gave me real christmas feeling for awhile. I'm so mad at myself for leaving my camera up in Julias room. The kids were so cute! One of them, the oldest one - he might be 12 or something, sang "Staffan Stalledräng". They have a hard time with our R. It sounded so funny when se hang apelgrå. And it's also funny that they have no idea what they're singing about.
After sitting and chatting for a couple of hours Julia and I went up to her room to watch Home Alone. I fell asleep after 15 minutes approx and woke up when it ended... great movienight!?
Well, I'm so glad I went to this party, cause it was so much fun to feel that the swedish traditions still exist.

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0