Arno's birthday

 
 
He got another bow tie from Mirea in the morning, but they couldn't tie it, so he ended up with a regular tie to school anyway.
 
 
Mirea made him these pumpkins, so cute! She had thought everything through and planned it well.
 
 
Here is her bag with the bow tie to Arno.
 
 
When I had dropped Arno off at school (there were no more celebration in the morning) I got home and started making this treasure hunt for him. I wasn't sure if he had this hunt Mirea made him, so I thought he'd like one (or one more). I took post-it notes and stamped with my birthday-stamps on the front..
 
 
...and wrote a short text on the back. Where to go etc.
 
 
Since the kids had early release today, they had lunch at home. I made their favorite - grilled cheese. But today I made it even more special as you can see! That was a hit - thumbs up!
 
 
Then we started the treasure hunt. They were SO excited!!
 
 
On one note I wrote "go outside and run around the house before you continue", they were totally up for it! Ready, set, go!
 
 
One note in the refridgerator!
 
 
Arno didn't even finish reading until Mirea was gone - as you can see on her hair!
 
 
I wrapped a note that said "merry x-mas". I though they might think it was ridiculous, but they couldn't stop laugh! On the backside I wrote "Merry christmas! Oops, just kidding" and then I wrote the next place where to look for the next note. An estimated joke! And you should see Arno's eyes when he found the present in a shoe at the attic - totally excited!!
 
 
More notes in the basement! (here my good camera died, so you'll have to live with the bad quality)
 
 
Notes in Arno's bed! Finally, after a long time, with many notes they found the birthday-card that I'd made for him!
 
 
Then it was baking-time! Swedish chocolate balls was one the menu!
 
 
They had these faboluos aprons and baker's hats!!
 
 
How cute aren't they?!
 
 
I thought chocolate balls were boring, so we decided to do something more creative - we made "hallowaclate" as Arno came up with. Figures with halloween-theme. Mirea made this witch-hat.
 
 
I did a ghost with powdered sugar and chocolate chips as eyes (but I took them away and ate them instead)
 
 
Mirea's hat and pumpkin.
 
 
Arno's pumkin and "candy bar" (to me it looks like a box?)
 
 
Here's the presents - a crafty robot kit & a mustache pillbox (the stamp i bought for myself, to use on the presents)
 
 
The wrapped version.
 
 
And the birthday-card.
Have I told you that Arno wants to keep everything? It took him sooo long time to untie and unwrap everything because he didn't want to undo it...
 
He opened all the presents when Lori and Charlie got home from work, and I think mine were the only ones that were wrapped (lycky, otherwise we'd been sitting there all night). He got a keyboard and other shipped things that were in cartons already. But Lori said they usually don't wrap much since they don't have time or energy for it. They just put it in nice bags or something instead.
I think he had a good birthday! To me they didn't celebrate very much, we did homemade pizza which Arno had decided, he got some gifts and we ate desert, but that's it. I think birthdays are more celebrated in Sweden. But he was happy and that's all that matters ( or, by the way - he got an apple-ipod this morning, but he told me later on the way to school that he thought that was unnecessary since he already has one. Which I kind of agree, but I don't know why they gave it to him. It was brand new with headphones and everything, probably an expensive one).
 
Well, well. I think he had a good time after all. He totally liked the treasure-hunt, it might have been the best thing on the whole day. Happy!

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0