Explosions

 Lori were supposed to fly to D.C for a meeting at friday, but the flight cancelled so she had to go this monday instead. First we planned to go to Andover from saturday to monday afternoon because of the marathon, but since the meeting rescheduled we went home sunday night. Because of her meeting I had to work the whole monday. If it wasn't for that I am totally sure I would have been at the marathon. Terese and Madde texted me earlier and asked if I wanted to go with them since both of them were off that day, but I told them I was working. Otherwise we would have gone there. A marathon is a great event! It's pretty famous in Boston too, you can see signs on the street on copley square about it.. However, Madde and Terese decided to go to Framingham instead.
I would have gone to see the marathon with the kids later during the day if they wouldn't have said "oh, what is that to see - people running?" in the car on our way to plaster fun time. So I decided not to. Julia went with her kids.
 
Mirea and I were down in my room wrapping presents for Charlie's birthday when Julia texted me and asked if I was downtown or had heard the explosions. I thought she was kidding and ment the gun shooting when the first running finished the race so I texted her back "no, haven't heard anything, but fun for you if you did". If I only had known. I though she was making a big deal of it and called it explosion and not gunshot because it was so loud.
When Lori came home I still knew nothing. She asked something, I don't remember what and Mirea and I told her about Julia's text. We were joking about it, cause neither of us could ever imagine what it actually ment. Lori looked at me, kind of seriously but not too obvious, and said "we can talk about that later". That face scared me. That was when I realized something had happend.
I had some pizza with the family for dinner and right after that I went to pick up Julia for going to Sweet Tarts. I had the radio on and heard some of it on the news on the way to her, but when she came she told me everything.
 
I am not a very emotional person, but this really affected me. Boston is like my new home, this happend on the streets were I usually walk, where me and my friends were last week. Copley etc is the center of Boston - this is where I spend New Years Eve. I just can't believe it! And the fact that I would have gone in to town to see the race - what if I did?! I would probably want to go to the end of it, I would probably go to a place I knew - like Copley Square. I know one girl from training school that went to see the marathon. She was standing right before it ended, but they had booked a table at Joe's so they had to leave a few minutes earlier. Ten to be exact. What if she and her friends would have stayed there just a couple of minutes longer!! This is like a scary story and I am so happy non of my friends were there.

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0